U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-17-2020, 08:18 PM

440 posts, read 110,770 times

Advertisements

So I typed up an overly long question asking for advice on something with my daughter and an AP class she wanted to take but is no longer offered at her school. And in the course of typing it, got my answer. All it took was writing it all out for me to see the clear answer.

But I thought I would ask one question from it all just out of curiosity sake. Does anyone here know of a child who self-taught themselves an AP class with something like Khan Academy and maybe some study guides, took the AP exam, and passed the exam with a 3 or higher?

For the record, I decided not to actively encourage my daughter to do this (that was my question and I wrote an essay about her academic schedule). Once I read my post back to myself I realized she has a full plate this year with three other AP classes and it's probably not a good idea. She complained about not being able to take that class and I mentioned Khan to her once as a possibly if she wanted to take the course and the AP exam. But I am leaving it at that and not bringing it up to her again.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-18-2020, 05:53 AM

1,663 posts, read 1,501,419 times
Yeah, definitely not a good idea to try to self study with Khan Academy alone. Khan Academy is great, but those are a lot of other important distractions too.