Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Memorial Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-08-2021, 10:34 PM

8,666 posts, read 3,866,412 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by redguard57 View Post
Exactly. Who has that time?

Sure, if I were to be assigned a smart and dedicated 18 year old as an apprentice, I could have him or her up to speed and performing at my level in... oh.. a couple years probably. If educating, training & acculturating him was my job.

But that is not my job. I don't have time for that.
Well, yeah - then you might as well become an adjunct professor! :-)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-08-2021, 11:38 PM

10,065 posts, read 7,237,863 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorporateCowboy View Post
Well, yeah - then you might as well become an adjunct professor! :-)
Oh I would want more money for all that work! Adjuncts work for peanuts and it shocks me why they do what they do for so little.

Old 01-09-2021, 08:20 AM

27,564 posts, read 28,659,961 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Paolella View Post
Since that is not a rational goal for a learning institution, good riddance to universities that operate under that paradigm.
It is a widespread practice. Some college professors even tell their entering freshman class something like:

“Here’s a sobering truth. Most of you will not make it to graduation.”

Old 01-09-2021, 03:28 PM

Quote:
Oh I would want more money for all that work! Adjuncts work for peanuts and it shocks me why they do what they do for so little.