U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-09-2010, 02:18 PM

2,223 posts, read 5,006,381 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I'm in my 40s (but youthful) and pursuing a lifelong dream to study Spanish abroad. I majored in Spanish in college and can read & write but would like to eventually become fluent. I would like to spend about 1 month in an immersion program that also has a cultural education component (i.e., living w/ a host family, excursions, etc.). I'm thinking about doing this in November.

I am African-American and would like to study in a country that has an Afro-Latino population, as I am very interested in the culture. Also, a program that isn't geared to the traditional aged college student would be best for me.

Friends have suggested Costa Rica and Ecuador. I've been advised to stay away from Mexico.

I welcome your suggestions.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-09-2010, 02:57 PM

10,346 posts, read 19,217,318 times
I've heard that Antiqua, Guatemala has a good program, and if you go to south America, you will find many people in Venezuela and Brazil that have an Afro-Latino background. Others likely do too, but I'm not sure which ones. I would think that Mexico would be fine if you stay away from the border towns, but you can always google travel warnings and advisories. BootsnAll Travel Network :: Travel Community, Travel Stories, Cheap Tickets, Youth Hostels and all your travel needs has a lot of info also. Good luck--I'm jealous.

Old 03-09-2010, 11:15 PM