U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Eugene area
 [Register]
Eugene area Eugene - Springfield metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-11-2013, 12:39 PM

3 posts, read 10,840 times

Advertisements

Hello collective minds of City-Data,

I am a medical student from California in early 30's relocating to Eugene this summer to start my clinical rotations. I am partnered to a wonderful woman also in early 30's, also in healthcare, and we are actively trying to start a family and hope to stay in Eugene long-term. Although I have been to Eugene during my childhood, I don't know anything about neighborhoods and such, and wanted to get some advice before looking into housing options.

Here are some of the key features we are hoping for in the community we live in:

- LGBT friendly!
- Safe to walk/bike at night
- Peace and quiet (i.e. no high density of college parties or near major freeways)
- Possibly walk/bike distance to stores, coffee shops, library, post office, farmer's market, etc.

Are there any neighborhoods in particular within Eugene that we are more likely to find what we're looking for...?

Any advice would be very much appreciated!!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-11-2013, 08:42 PM

5,997 posts, read 7,477,227 times
Are you planning to rent or buy? There are lots of nice areas. I lived near 28th & Chambers when I was there and liked it. Still very centrally located. I could walk to shops and restaurants in about 20 minutes. If you drive or bike it's even easier.