U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Eugene area
 [Register]
Eugene area Eugene - Springfield metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-13-2009, 09:49 AM

1 posts, read 3,114 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are ready to move out of Texas and want to make sure that this move will be our last. We are both artists and would like to one day open up a pottery and glass fusion studio and school. My husband is a middle school art teacher and I’m a respiratory therapist so needless to say we are not wealthy. We have visited the area several times and LOVE it but that is from a visitors perspective. I’m hoping someone out there can help me with a few questions.
1-How many hospitals are there in the area and how big are they?
2-Do the schools value and fund art programs? I ask this because many schools in Texas have eliminated all art programs and there are very few jobs for teachers with art degrees. [
3-Can you buy a nice 3 bedroom home in a safe and clean neighborhood for $250,000 or less?
4-What is the worst thing about living in Eugene and what is the best?
5-Is Eugene a good place to retire? (Good health care, cost of living, city services etc.) [/SIZE][/FONT]
If anyone is a teacher, artist or in the medical field I would especially love to hear your advice and recommendations on moving.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-14-2009, 11:19 AM

231 posts, read 732,564 times
I'll answer a few of these:

#3: Can you buy a nice 3 bedroom in a safe and clean neighborhood for $250K or less?