Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Europe
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-24-2009, 11:47 AM

530 posts, read 648,049 times

Advertisements

Ok so here goes. I am interested in moving to France. No before you ask, I don't speak french. I would love to learn and am interested in any suggestions anyone may have. I have thought about rosetta stone. I am a nurse but again I am not sure how my degree would trnslate and with socialized medicine would the French Gov't hire me. Also, I hate the cold, so somewhere close to the coast would be nice. I currently live in tenn so i am used to the weather. If anyone has any ideas or suggestions i would be more than glad to listen. Also wondering how the healthcare works with forgeiners and school also. I know for the French it is free and as of current I am working on my PhD and would love to continue. Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-24-2009, 12:26 PM

321 posts, read 957,167 times
Nurses are in such great demand in France that many hospitals give free housing and languages classes (they hired hundreds of Spanish nurses recently). The question is whether a nurse from outside the EU is acceptable as well.

Old 09-24-2009, 01:03 PM

19 posts, read 84,139 times
As far as I know there's a rather severe lack of nurses in France (as well as about everywhere in the western world I think) but I'm not sure your diploma will be recognized over here. And there's the work visa problem.