U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska > Fairbanks
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-08-2013, 07:01 PM

2,256 posts, read 1,899,192 times

Advertisements

I am moving up to Alaska in June.

My plan is to drive up taking about 3 weeks to get there dining a camping/driving vacation as I've never had a real vacation. In Alaska we will be visiting Fairbanks and the Peninsula and so far I have about 2-3 additional weeks available to put an eye on things.

It will be myself and my daughter.

I am a nurse and am not worried about getting employed as much as where to get employed but I'm hesitant to commit to a hospital or town sight unseen. The weather is not an issue nor is remoteness or lack of roads. We are a pretty adventurous bunch and my daughter actually is more adventurous than I am.

I'm currently looking at Fairbanks, Nome, or Kenai. Or any suburbs or towns near or about these areas.

Anyone have any experience with the hospitals in these areas? Namely Fairbanks Memorial, Norton Sound Regional or Central Peninsula hospital.

My initial thoughts are that I am really leaning towards Nome as we want to be out there so to speak but Kenai speaks to me and Fairbanks seems pretty out there as well.

Also, does anyone have any idea how much flights to Nome from Fairbanks run? I would really like to see it before committing if that was my choice.

I'm already committed to Alaska, it is just these final details that I'd like to nail down.