U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Fashion and Beauty
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-29-2013, 02:54 PM

389 posts, read 583,900 times

Advertisements

I have a bachelor's degree that is useless and I am about to turn 30. Have worked very low-paying jobs throughout my 20s and am ready for a career, but don't want to spend the time and money getting a masters (and in this economy even masters-grads are having a hard time). However, I'm worried I don't have the makings of a cosmetologist in me. I'm not a girly-girl (though not a tomboy, either), would not even own make-up if it weren't for the fact I have terrible skin, am not into outlandish, trendy hairstyles or unnatural hair colors not found in nature, and shop at thrift stores for classically-styled clothes. I also consider myself a minimalist ( I own 4 pairs of pants, about 10 shirts, one skirt, 3 pairs of shorts, 3 pairs of shoes including one pair of snow boots -- you get the point), which seems to fly in the face of how I view the beauty community -- always having to buy the next new beauty product/more clothes/shoes/hair accessories/hair styling products, etc. I mean, I use natural baby shampoo on my hair and no other products AT ALL.

Will I fit into the cosmetology culture or not? Am I over-thinking this? I am drawn to the field because it's a skill that is always needed, even in tough economic times, and I can have my license in a year, maybe even a little sooner.

Thanks for any advice!

Note: Please move to the employment forum if this would do better over there.