Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Fish
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-09-2012, 11:03 AM

8,411 posts, read 7,425,834 times

Advertisements

This is my first time having fish in a while. We are headed out of town. The 2 betta are in separate fish bowl. What's the best way to feed the bettas for 3 days while we are away?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-09-2012, 01:45 PM

196 posts, read 697,089 times
They will be fine without any food for three days. Or a week or two. Enjoy your trip.

Old 03-09-2012, 01:49 PM

5,064 posts, read 15,904,022 times
Three days would be fine, two weeks would NOT. I know someone who went away for two weeks and left their betta without food, and it died. You are taking a big risk to leave fish behind without food for two whole weeks, plus it's cruel. If you ever do plan to go away longer than a week, just ask someone to stop by every couple of days to feed it. I have those weekly pill containers that have a section for each day of the week, and I fill it with the proper amount of food for each visit. The person caring for my fish just has to empty out that daily portion.

Old 03-10-2012, 09:23 PM

6,591 posts, read 24,864,343 times
there are also vacation feeders, slow release feeders, just be sure to take out any unused portion when you return as they do fowl the water.

and agree, 3 days is "safe" 1 week is pushing it...2 weeks is just plain cruel...
fish are not magical, they NEED to eat or will starve to death just like any other creature would...