U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Food and Drink
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-20-2012, 09:06 AM

18,234 posts, read 22,638,715 times

Advertisements

I have never made a yeast bread before. My mom has been making her orange marmalade bread for 30 years now. I have always had the recipe but was scared to try and make it. I would say I am a novice in the kitchen when it comes to cooking and maybe moderate when it comes to baking (don't bake alot) well so far so good. It's rising nicely in the bowl and then when it doubles in size I have to punch it down cut the dough in half and place each piece in a well greased loaf pan and let it rise again then bake it. This recipe makes 2 loaves. I am off this week so I thought I'd try this. The bread also has honey in it. It tastes great toasted with butter or jam.I'll let you know the outcome later today once it's baked.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-20-2012, 10:38 AM

1,237 posts, read 2,837,769 times
Good luck. I hope it turns out good. I have a simple recipe for white bread that I make about once a week in winter. We don't like store bought light bread any more after eating it.

Old 02-20-2012, 10:45 AM

If this turns out good I might try and make other yeast breads. This one is almost like a honey oatmeal bread with marmalade, since there are oats in it. My mom makes bricohe too which is next on my list to try and bake.

Old 02-20-2012, 11:07 AM

7,525 posts, read 15,422,341 times
One of my favorites is Angel Biscuits.