U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Fort Lauderdale area
 [Register]
Fort Lauderdale area Broward County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-18-2011, 06:13 PM

91 posts, read 192,214 times

Advertisements

Hey Guys,

I am a pilot for one of those wonderful regional airlines where we don't make all too much money. I took the transfer down to MIA and am moving down OCT 1st. I live with my GF and we spend about 1000/month now on rent (500 each, this is in NJ, this is comfortable budget wise for us, but much more would really hurt us). I drive 70 miles, takes me 1 hour 20min no traffic, 2+ in traffic. The 2 hour max is really important, as we can be scheduled to sit by the phone at home some days, its call reserve, and they call to say you have a flight to fly, and you have 2 hours to get to work or else be in huge trouble. We have started looking down around the Plantation/Sunrise area as it seems to fit what we are looking for. We have enjoyed the communities we have seen but the $1200+ is going to stretch us big time. We want to find somewhere with many of these amenities and the safe feel but for closer to 1000$. Is anyone from around the area that could help. I am a pilot so I only drive to/from MIA 1 to 2 times a week since I typically go out for 4 day trips, then get 3 days off. Most of our trips are early early morning or mid day, returning mid day or late night, so rush hour is typically not a concern. My goal is to be ABOUT 45 min from MIA no traffic, and under 2 hours in peak traffic. So basically a 45 mile radius. We have been looking around plantation/sunrise since i