U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-12-2010, 09:01 AM

309 posts, read 739,460 times

Advertisements

Hi all

Shortly to be moving to Fort Worth area from UK and as I am a keen cook, I would like to know what the good food suppliers are?

On my first and only very brief visit last month I only saw a Tom Thumb supermarket where I was staying in Southlake area. Are there various large supermarket chains as well as more individual food suppliers, butchers, fishmongers, green grocers etc or is it mainly supermarkets for all food stuffs? Are there such things as farmers' markets offering more unusual items? I also like to cook oriental/asian and wonder if there is an Oriental food supplier nearby?

Am likely to be Tarrant County when I move early next year, probably somewhere like Keller, North Richland Hills, HEB areas.

Thanks in advance for anything to enlighten me!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-12-2010, 12:38 PM

3,087 posts, read 6,981,585 times
You can find most anything you want as long as you know where to look and understand you will have to drive to several different places to find it all.

There are stores like Sprouts, Central Market and Market Street that may fit better what you are looking for than a Tom Thumb, Kroger or ALbertson's, which are the main chain stores here. Discount grocers incude Aldi's, Walmart and Target for chains and various other independent stores. Some may carry what you are looking for.