U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-27-2011, 11:47 PM

94 posts, read 275,846 times

Advertisements

Ok.... I am new to the back yard pool thing, but that said, I have never heard of having a rat or an iguana in the pool. Over the last 4 days, I have had to take my 2 6 month old German Shepherd puppies out to do their thing in the middle of the night..... they tend to bark when they go out so I usually go out with them. This past Tuesday morning @ about 3:30am, I was out on my patio and notice something swimming back and forth along the waterfall in out pool - the waterfall back to a heavily landscaped bed. The swimmer was a rat.... not a mouse, a rat... a big rat.... one that looked like a squirrel without a tail. I fished it out of the water before my dogs could see it and winged it, Lacrosse-stick style, on to the golf course.... The next morning, around the same time, I noticed one of my pups looking down into the water at a fairly large iguana at the bottom of the pool... repeated the pool extraction from the night before.... have not told my wife as she would have a pretty adverse reaction to the news...

My question is... is this an unusual occurrence or is this something one should expect here in North Texas?

Thanks
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-28-2011, 01:15 AM

1,379 posts, read 6,053,560 times