Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-07-2012, 09:15 PM

307 posts, read 980,847 times

Advertisements

I am currently considering moving to the Fort Worth area of Texas. I am aware of how big the area is and don't want to live within Fort Worth proper but in a small/medium-sized community nearby. I am not sure where to live based on my criteria and don't have the resources to come visit first.

(1) I am a musician (Traditional Country Music/Honky Tonk and Blues) and want to live in an area that is highly musical with plenty of band opportunities and Honky-Tonks, live-music venues etc. I am aware that Fort Worth has plenty of this going on.

(2) My family is a country/agricultural, conservative/moderate and has old-fashioned values therefore we really desire a laid-back, down-home with old-fashioned values/standards/behavior and TRADITIONAL, "Old" Texas-type of environment. Don't want a socially modern, progressive environment.

I understand that some of these statements don't really suit some of the "Big-City" cultures, however it is VERY important to be within reasonable distance to "Big-City" ammenities.

We would prefer a city that is 40,000 to 150,000 population but near Fort Worth, no more than 20-30 miles. We would also be interested in smaller communities that are 10,000 to 40,000 in population if they are adjacent to Fort Worth or within 10 miles.