U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-11-2013, 12:16 PM

5 posts, read 11,443 times

Advertisements

Well, I know there are a ton of post regarding many people from this area heading to Texas. Myself and my fiance live in Bay City MI. I have a college degree and she is in college and has worked for the same company for 10 years, of which she is now the general manager.

I lived in Hillsboro TX, 60 miles south of Dallas, 30 miles north of Waco. Spent my Whole childhood in Texas up until my senior year of high school. I personally lived in multiple other states since then and have been contemplating which state to return to. Michigan is dead and only getting worse. Too many people fighting for jobs that already do not pay enough to survive off of. Low wages and honestly some of the most unfriendly people I have ever met live in Michigan.

Problem is; my fiance has never left the state of Michigan and its all she knows. She totally agrees that if we want to have a better life we have to leave this state. She has 3 sisters, both younger, one in college, one married with a few children. The hardest part for her would be the fact that she would be 20 hours away by car.

I keep telling her the hardest adjustment for her will be all the people waving and saying hi even though they are a stranger lol.