U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-19-2010, 01:31 PM

13 posts, read 45,966 times

Advertisements

Hi all!
I'm planning to move to Dallas/FW area in June due to my husband's job. I'm a fully certified music teacher with 13+ year experience. So far I've been filling out applications online but haven't heard anything back. I read on this forum that people think it's useless to rely on the on-line applications and that personal visits to schools are necessary to get a job even though all the school websites say not to come there personally. I'd appreciate any feedback on how the process of finding a teaching job works in TX. Is it really better/necessary to try and meet principals in person? do I go directly to school or should I try and talk to HR people first? any advice will be greatly appreciated!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-19-2010, 03:35 PM

35,419 posts, read 55,021,615 times
you need to figure out where you are going to be living
the Metroplex is hugh--getting a job at one end and living at the other would be worse in some ways than not getting a job

there are charter schools and magent schools --
Texas Charter Schools Listed by City (http://www.charterstexas.org/ct_schools/listed_city.php - broken link)
a magnet school is sponsored by a public ISD and is filled by that district's students based on factors usually tied to ability/IQ/special interests