Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
2,500,000 members. Thank you!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Frugal Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 11-24-2013, 06:49 AM

1 posts, read 11,399 times

Advertisements

I'm a 22-year-old college student and my boyfriend and I are looking to move into our own apartment. We live in western Pennsylvania, where the cost of living is quite low and we have found a decent two-bedroom townhouse nearby for $575, including sewage. It has central air and gas heating. We've never lived on our own before and we're nervous about making the move. We're trying to figure out if we can realistically afford it.

We only make a combined income of about $1700-1800 a month. We are very lucky in that we do not have car payments nor do we have any credit card debt whatsoever. So our main expenses would be electricity, gas, cable/internet, car insurance, gas for the cars, and groceries. I believe that we should be able to pay our utilities and rent with about half of our earnings. The other half would go towards the cars and food. This is what worries me the most because they will undoubtedly be our biggest expenses. Is it possible for two people to eat relatively well for under $250 a month? This is assuming that we don't eat out. Both of us have to travel about 15-20 minutes on the highway 4 to 5 times a week to get to work and school. I don't really track it at the moment so I'm nervous about how much gas will cost.