Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Frugal Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-01-2010, 03:36 PM

432 posts, read 3,666,686 times

Advertisements

Okay guys.... Time for some penny pinching. I'm new to this frugal thing so I could use some advice. I've looked over my budget and found some items that I could reduce costs on if i wanted to, so here is what is spend a month. Please let me know how you think i could improve:

Keep in mind these numbers are only for me and my wife:

Food - $350/month (eat out only once a month or so... mostly just grocery expenses)

Cell Phone Service - $95/month (verizon's most basic family plan plus $5/month for 250 text messages)

Internet - $41/month (Time warner roadrunner)

Phone line $21/month (AT&T - we don't use the phone, only have line for security system)

I am consdiering swtiching to AT&T DSL since we already have the phone line, that would cost only $10 more per month, then we can save $30/month over Roadrunner.

What else do you guys suggest?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-01-2010, 03:57 PM

8,953 posts, read 20,733,283 times
THE very best advice I can give to advise you is to get to know Dave Ramsey and his financial freedom methods of money control. He's a no bull manure kinda guy that tells it straight.

Financial Peace University - daveramsey.com

-and-

Dave Ramsey Homepage - daveramsey.com