U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-09-2014, 05:54 AM

3 posts, read 3,656 times

Advertisements

Okay - so I'm new to gardening (since last year) and I'm sure my neighbours think I'm moving. I have a beautiful pond, hostas, flowers, blooming shrubs, trees... and now I realize that I need to look after my lawn. The weeds just don't fit in my yard any longer. So I've been digging up individual weeds as I see them. I then put grass seed in the hole where the weed was and pack with dirt. I use the sprinkler to ensure that the area is well watered. I realize that this will take some time. I am approaching my lawn in sections and digging weed/planting seed.

I'm hoping this will work. I don't really have the time or inclination (this year anyway) to dig up my lawn and till. Wondering if anyone can tell me if my technique will work. Or if you have further suggestions.

Thanks very much,

Spice
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-09-2014, 06:36 AM

7,603 posts, read 9,588,075 times
Grass seed will not germinate if it is buried deeply. One-quarter inch is the maximim depth. It needs the tiny little bit of light that filters through that small amount of soil in order to be biologically triggered to germinate.

Old 06-09-2014, 08:35 AM

Location: East of Seattle since 1992, originally from SF Bay Area
33,116 posts, read 60,157,060 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by luv4horses View Post