Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-19-2019, 08:13 AM

3,881 posts, read 4,126,163 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I'm rather new to learning all about the landscaping dos/donts, etc. I've always lived in the woods where it was near impossible to grow anything much so this is all new to me.

I'm in N. Alabama, 7b. It was 99 degrees yesterday and a lot my plants are struggling and I"m doing what I can but I read something yesterday telling me that it was time to start separating bulbs on some stuff now and I'm really doubting that.

When will be the right time? I have a LOT of transplanting to do. I moved into this house last fall and since then have seen where there are plants coming up right under or in the middle of other plants, etc. It's as tho each family that lived here planted items right over bulbs of other plants they didn't know were there at the time, etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-19-2019, 12:34 PM

14,735 posts, read 15,033,548 times
If you want to take bulbs up I think this is far too early in the year to be doing that. It's still the middle of summer and most people who take their bulbs up generally do it in mid to late autumn when the temperatures are getting colder but not freezing yet and all perennials are starting to go dormant for winter.