U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-01-2020, 06:18 AM

1 posts, read 67 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to houseplants and have a lovely money tree that I'm struggling to keep alive and keep looking good. I've done lots of reading on it and know not to water it too much, keep it in indirect light, not move its location regularly, prune occasionally, etc.

There is new growth and it seems broadly healthy, but there are a few issues:

1. one of the 5 stems seems to be dead. It's really hard and dry and hasn't had any growth since I bought it. I've trimmed it once to see if that would stimulate new growth, but no luck. It's not rotten - just not doing anything. I don't mind it. Can I leave it where it is or do I have to cut it down and remove it, all the way down to the roots?

2. One of the stems has developed a crack in the last few days - I can't find any advice on this online or in books.

3. the plant has loads of stem but very few leaves. New leaves are coming so I know there will be good coverage, but I don't know how to stop it getting taller and taller, with leaves only at the very top. I've cut back new growth a few times but it just leads to really long stems growing and then leaves at the top: I can't get new growth at lower levels. Any advice would be great - I think I cut it back too far last time, hence some of the gnarly growth-less stems.

Photos are here (hopefully this link embed works - couldn't see any forum rules on image posting):

[url]https://ibb.co/zJfvNfn[/url]