U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-17-2020, 07:10 AM

5,442 posts, read 5,587,626 times

Advertisements

We have never fed the birds & this week I decided to buy some Humming Bird Nectar & hang a bird feeder in a tree in front of our home. The feeder has been up for 4 days now and we haven't seen a single bird. Since I have never done this before I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

I would appreciate any guidance. Thank you. kelsie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-17-2020, 07:50 AM

8,944 posts, read 11,841,840 times
Patience. 4 days is nothing. My feeder has been up in Southern De. for just shy of 3 weeks and have not seen a HB as of yet. We usually have a ton of them. The weather here has been cool and I will await them when they arrive. Be advised that often times it takes a while for them to find a new food source.

Old 06-17-2020, 07:57 AM

3,204 posts, read 2,724,135 times
Sometimes it just takes time for them to find you. Also, generally, you should have the feeders up about the time they return from migrating. If you have a food source up early then the likelyhood of them staying and nesting nearby are greater and they won't just pass thru. So, I would suspect that a lot of hummers have already staked out there territories but, there will always be others to pass by but they do have to find you first.