Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > General Moving Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-20-2015, 07:22 PM

2 posts, read 2,730 times

Advertisements

I'm moving back to Florida for some good reasons but I'm renting a 16ft penske truck and this will be my first time driving one of these. I'm a pretty good cautious driver and I've done this same trip in my car last December and it wasnt bad, made it in 24 hours. However, I'm worried about coming across overpasses and bridges thats shorter than 16ft. I stumbled across of youtube vids of a bunch of Penske trucks driving into these and wrecking pretty bad. Although I've done this trip, i recall going under bridges and tunnels but i dont know if any were under 16ft clearance. I will driving the same route with my truck and i was wondering if would be wise to do so or is there a route i can go to get their safely??

I will be taking the Texas, MI, Alabama route into Florida with google gps because we felt it was way less brutal than the kansas route and saved more gas due to lower miles driven. How do i go about finding out what roads to avoid have have low clearance for 16ft truck Please help really worried about this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-20-2015, 08:26 PM

7,515 posts, read 13,618,508 times
What Penske truck is 16 feet tall ?

A bigger issue could be gas station and motel overhangs.

Old 06-20-2015, 08:58 PM

13,131 posts, read 20,984,674 times