Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Thread summary:

Moving West: college search, relocate, seasonal affective disorder, rent, cost of living.

Old 01-29-2008, 04:23 AM

11 posts, read 69,781 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone.

The basic run-down: I'm an 18 year old college student living in southern Maine. I'm a freshman at USM and am working almost full time to save up money. I've lived in Maine pretty much my entire life, and I absolutley hate it. There's nothing wrong with the state itself - it's a very beautiful place - but I just don't enjoy living here, just don't fit here. I contemplated going to school out west but wasn't ready back a year or two ago; now I think I almost am, at least mentally. I'm planning on getting at least a little bit of school under my belt, putting away some good cash to save up, and preparing myself physically and mentally to relocate sometime within the next 6-18 months. Wherever I go, I will be looking to start off with a cheap apartment, perhaps with a roomate or two, and attending college, whether it be starting out at some local state school or a big university eventually - either way, some type of college so that I can continue working towards my bachelor's degree in journalism/communications.