U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-16-2008, 01:20 AM

3 posts, read 4,938 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone,

I know that there are several threads similar to this but I have been unable to find anything specific...

My husband and I are a young (27-28 yrs) childless couple living in Phoenix AZ. I am a prefessional civil engineer and my husband is an auto paint and body repair tech. Our average income is $100K a year. My husband has several muscle cars in various stages and I have a horse (I ride dressage and jumpers) which I am currently boarding. Currently we cannot afford a house within 45 min. of Phoenix where we can have acreage for our hobbies (Foreclosed houses meeting this are at $350K). My husband would eventually like to open his own body shop, which has become almost impossible here with shop rent averaging $7K/month.

We are are looking to move to a city at about 300,000 - 500,000 people where we could afford a home and property (minimum 2 acres) within 45 min from the city. We would prefer an area with pastures and trees with minimal snow (we were both born and raised in small town Arizona and don't handle the cold well). Really high humidity makes my husband's job more difficult, so we would like to avoid that if possible. We are not interested in the brown sea of houses with HOA's and prefer older quality homes. To put it into perspective, SoCal would be hell for us.