Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-01-2006, 01:04 PM

32 posts, read 189,999 times

Advertisements

I'm relocating to Kings Bay, GA and I was wondering the pros and cons of living in either GA or FL (taxes, gas, schools, crime, etc). Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-18-2006, 06:24 AM

51 posts, read 335,569 times
I'm not an expert about either of those states, but I can say that Florida's taxes will eat you alive if a hurricane doesn't get you first. On the other hand, Georgia, especially around Atlanta is overrun with poverty and crime. Both have nice weather but a little humid. Have you looked into North Carolina or Virginia?

Old 06-22-2006, 09:27 PM

137 posts, read 739,413 times
The GA/FL debate: we just went through this personally last year. The good news about FL: no state income tax
The good news about GA: less expensive cost of living

I found most of Florida to be seedy and crime ridden. We have children and we always check for sex-offenders, etc in an area. Florida was FULL of them. Georgia was not nearly as bad. Florida has the most crime in the country (and more strip bars than I've ever seen too). Georgia's schools are far more supported and better. I guess it depends on what you are looking for. What do you want in a place to live?

Old 06-25-2006, 09:42 PM

56 posts, read 324,510 times
Hi,
Lived in NY, NJ, NC, SC, VA, grew up in Florida, and currently living in NC.