Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-15-2009, 10:08 PM

23 posts, read 142,823 times

Advertisements

I'm planning a ride from Southern California to Central Florida. This is going to be my first road-trip ever. Just got my driver's license couple weeks ago and I'm kind of new to driving. But I feel very comfortable and confident while driving so no worries about that. I thought about posting here and asking for some advice. Actually I'm new to America, just moved here from Europe, so you know ANY KIND of an advice regarding this trip would be greatly appreciated. I don't really know much about driving cross-country, freeways, cars, staying at motels and in general traveling around US, so seriously, anything that pops to your head, feel free to let me know what you think about this. I'm planning to take the 10 interstate. I'm thinking about getting there in four or five days, depending on how I'll feel on the road. I enjoy driving, drove a lot through California, and I'm used to driving couple hours at a time. I figured that I could take those 2400 miles at best in three days. But that's kind of crazy and I don't want to rush myself and would definitely like to stop and do some sightseeing every once in a while. Which points of the route are definitely must-see? Which scenic routes are the best? Any cities along the way that are worth of stopping by and taking a better look? I enjoy nice views and nice/unique cities or towns. I'm not sure where to sleep. I was thinking about sleeping in my car but