U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 08:49 PM

5 posts, read 13,089 times

Advertisements

Ok, im going to keep this as simple, condensed and in a nutshell as possible.

Im a 32 year old white male born and raised on Long Island, NY. I have an associates degree and am not too far off from a bachelors in business admin. I currently work for an IT firm here on Long Island (fixing/troubleshooting computers) and i also have a small side gig of developing websites for small businesses.

I took some bad advice a few years ago by letting my young daughter move with her mother from here into her parents house in Cumming, GA (they are NY transplants). She comes to visit me on holidays and stays with me for 9-10 weeks of the summer. Its good that i do get to be in her life and be able to be her daddy but quite honestly i feel very guilty about making her do all the traveling to come stay with me like this. I also feel guilty of the back and forth she has to do between parents and families....it is not good for a young child.

Its come to the point where i want to be in her life on a constant basis while shes still young, shes a very smart, self-aware 5 year old who totally adores me. I want to pick her up from school, be involved in all the things that normal, everyday parents get to enjoy. That said, i am starting the investigation of making a permanent move to this small town...or a very close by town.