U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-16-2007, 09:18 PM

2 posts, read 2,600 times

Advertisements

We have been spending a lot of windshield time driving through Southern college towns from KY to AL to GA. We are looking for a town with not just occasional music festivals but weekly night life and live bands. Having played everything from Rock-a-Billy to Big Band Swing to Cruise Ship pitbands, I'm a frustrated big band drummer with equipment, PA and charts and we need a town with the venues, the crowd and the musicians to play. We love history and culture, and that is why we are drawn to the South. The Midwest with DUI laws and winter weather is not condusive to year-round live bands and the talent to play this kind of music is elusive. We are painfully aware from Places Rated Almanac of the crime rates of some eclectic southern towns. That being said, great musicians come from diverse socio-economic backgrounds, and although crime bothers us, diversity does not. The last 2 college towns we visited offered opportunities in their music departments, but there was no intact downtown in which to play. If any town comes to mind, please reply... and I owe you a rim shot!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-16-2007, 09:40 PM

6 posts, read 32,261 times
As a musician myslef, I would recommend Atlanta or Athens. Both are very historical cultured places that have a lot of very nice venues. Good luck on your search!

Old 08-17-2007, 12:40 PM

138 posts, read 637,815 times