U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-11-2017, 03:10 PM

36 posts, read 23,755 times

Advertisements

Hello

I'm a physician working in Connecticut and I'm sick of the winters here. I'm looking to relocate somewhere warm. My first choice was Florida, however I'm having a difficult time finding a decent paying job in a nice location. I've been researching the West Coast and also considering the South. I've never visited Georgia but have driven through it on a couple of road trips from CT to FL and back so don't really know much about the state. The big problem with California is the exorbitant cost of living so I'm having a look at GA and other southern states.

My ideal location would be a small-mid size town on the coast. I definitely don't want to live in a big congested city and have to deal with traffic (Atlanta is apparently notorious for this).

What's Savannah like? Is it an urban nightmare? Perhaps the suburbs of Savannah?

How's the cost of living in GA compared to CT? Right now I'm renting an apartment (2b/1b) on the beach (Long Island Sound) in a small town for $1500 and am living very comfortably. In fact, if it weren't for the winters I would just stay here because the summers in CT are amazing.

How cold does it get down in GA on the coast?

Are there nice beaches in GA comparable to FL?

Is the GA coast prone to storms/tornadoes?

I'm married and no kids yet but they are in the future. Where would you guys suggest is a good place to raise kids?

So my priorities are the following:
- close to a nice beach