U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-11-2019, 10:55 AM

1 posts, read 464 times

Advertisements

Hey There!
I work in Law Enforcement in Philadelphia. I'll be retiring really soon and I'm so over the city. All I want is peace, relaxation and the ability to commute into the city when need be. I really would like to relocated somewhere in Georgia but I totally don't have a clue! Centerville, Byron, Kathleen???? What would you recommend?? Help!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-13-2019, 12:54 AM

6,635 posts, read 6,043,067 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony 123 View Post
Hey There!
I work in Law Enforcement in Philadelphia. I'll be retiring really soon and I'm so over the city. All I want is peace, relaxation and the ability to commute into the city when need be. I really would like to relocated somewhere in Georgia but I totally don't have a clue! Centerville, Byron, Kathleen???? What would you recommend?? Help!!
If you want to be somewhere that is remotely near the city (the 6 million-inhabitant Atlanta metropolitan area), checkout the scenic North Georgia Mountains.

There are communities that are destinations for retirees in the heavily wooded scenic foothills and ranges of the Blue Ridge and Southern Appalachians north of Atlanta.

Cherokee, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, Gilmer, White, Habersham and Hall counties are good places to look in the Blue Ridge/Southern Appalachian foothills of North Georgia if you want to be closer to Atlanta.