U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-04-2010, 01:28 AM

15 posts, read 30,579 times

Advertisements

Hi, there. I am in the process of narrowing down our final choices for a new hometown. This has been a long and hard adventure but I think I'm ready to pick - but I'd like some help.

First, some background: My husband works for a big telecom but he works 100% at home (fortunately he manages overseas accounts so he is availble all day to explore the new city!) and I am a writer. We have 2 boys, 9 and 14. Our "old" home is a Victorian that we restored here in NE PA. After the first 20 years of life in MA then a few in NJ then PA...well, we're ready for the south. I have traveled extensively throughout the country and a lot of the world, always with an eye for where we could move to. What has really gotten my attention is Georgia. (It is VERY hard to pick a new home when you can choose from anywhere at all.) But I wanted a few specific things:
1. Warm weather. Seasons are nice but you don't have to shovel humidity. Goodbye, 'Noreasters!
2. Small town atmosphere. We are now an hour outside of Manhattan and I'll do almost anything to avoid it for all the noise! I like having the museums and events that big cities offer but I am willing to go there when needed - I don't want to live in the shadow of a skyscraper!