U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Grand Rapids metro area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-03-2015, 05:32 PM

1 posts, read 593 times

Advertisements

I have been renting a "Finished" basement in Michigan since October 2014, with me and my boyfriend in the basement and the landlord and her boyfriend upstairs. Everything started fine until a few weeks later.
Me and my boyfriend started renting the place after having lived in a car for a month, and the rent was originally 380, but raised to 405 after we got a dog. We pay for the basement, shared kitchen upstairs and shared bathroom. Originally, we did not pay utilities, however, our landlord asked us to pay half, so all together we pay about $600 a month.

The problems started in November. I got a facebook message from the landlord where she was yelling at me about the lights being left on (Although I ALWAYS turn off the lights because I was used to it from my dad being energy saving like). Later on, she got on us about food, saying we need to contribute, although we do. I started taking my EBT card to get food (I get $194 a month.). Unfortunately, this turned bad as well. The food would be gone literally within five days, even though we bought $194 worth, because my landlord and her boyfriend are larger and eat ALOT. Many of the two liters I bought I never got the even drink because they would take them and drink right from the top of it. I eventually started taking my own two liters downstairs and hiding them to avoid this.