U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Hampton Roads area
 [Register]
Hampton Roads area Chesapeake - Hampton - Newport News - Norfolk - Portsmouth - Suffolk - Virginia Beach
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-05-2013, 07:59 AM

3 posts, read 3,533 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone, I've been reading through these threads a lot thanks a lot for everyone's posts. I know this is not a popular commute (any daily commute crossing tunnels in Hampton Roads is dumb... I know)--but I'm pretty sure I want to live in VA Beach while working in Newport News.

To give context I somewhat know what I'm doing...kind of: I'm not a newbie to this route but I'm not a veteran either. I traveled back and forth from Richmond to Suffolk for a couple years due to long-distance relationship. I've been to VA Beach about a million times visiting from northern VA via 64 and also from Suffolk. My significant other actually did the commute daily from Suffolk to Newport News (usually James River bridge, sometimes that Monitor miramac bridge as needed--she said averaged 30 mins commute time with about twice a year it being awful like 1.5-2hrs) and then also from Suffolk to Williamsburg (taking the ferry almost 45 mins).

I know VA Beach to Newport News is worse than all of these due to Hampton Roads Tunnel bridge/64 and I am taking my time finalizing my decision.

Here's the situation: we're both young and want to use this as fun beach time and will only be there for a job for 12 months--and half the time I may be working from home!!!!