Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Hampton Roads area
 [Register]
Hampton Roads area Chesapeake - Hampton - Newport News - Norfolk - Portsmouth - Suffolk - Virginia Beach
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-24-2013, 01:57 PM

24 posts, read 37,433 times

Advertisements

Single, 30, Female...I have no idea where to begin. I'm interested in living in VA Beach, moving from Austin, TX. Any suggestions on the right area for my demographic? Safe area? Also I have a masters in Edu. Technology and Leadership, so I'll most likely be working for a school or school district. Any thoughts, suggestions will be helpful. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-24-2013, 05:27 PM

3,032 posts, read 4,740,683 times
It all depends on what you're looking for, I think. Honestly, I don't think Virginia Beach is half as fun as Austin is and my sister who has taught in both Texas public schools and for Virginia Beach public schools told me she absolutely hated working in Virginia Beach, but loves working in Texas. She says there is more support from the administration and that parents are easier to deal with because where she is the parents also are willing to work with kids when behavior issues will arise. She said when she was here and had behavior issues, the parents absolutely would not help her.

With that said, I enjoy living here. I love the beach and the outdoors activities. When I was single here, it was a great place to meet guys, but many were military.

Old 08-24-2013, 07:21 PM

3,848 posts, read 9,335,001 times
Quote: