U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Hampton Roads area
 [Register]
Hampton Roads area Chesapeake - Hampton - Newport News - Norfolk - Portsmouth - Suffolk - Virginia Beach
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-21-2013, 04:59 PM

1 posts, read 883 times

Advertisements

I'm a new resident of Hampton Roads(6 months) and fairly new to this great forum. I look forward to adding to the discussions here, but I thought I would start with an issue I find particularly fascinating about greater Hampton Roads.

Transportation has been discussed in bits in pieces on this forum(i.e. light rail disussion) but I wanted to start this thread to discuss "how people get around" more broadly. I have come to realize that the average citizen has only one transportation choice for commuting here. I have also realized that many average citizens do not think that to be a particularly bad state of things, while at the same time decrying the traffic bottlenecks, potholes and taxation/tolling to provide costly infrastructure that automobile dependence necessitates.

I'm interested in gaining a local perspective (collective historical knowledge) as to what decision-making on the part of what institutions or individuals got the region into this transportation situation. I realize that geographic, social, political and national "trends and forces" played a role, but a follow-up question would be why do the residents of HR not forcefully demand more transportation choice?