U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Hampton Roads area
 [Register]
Hampton Roads area Chesapeake - Hampton - Newport News - Norfolk - Portsmouth - Suffolk - Virginia Beach
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-27-2009, 11:22 AM

159 posts, read 505,246 times

Advertisements

First let me say, I'm starting to think that i am addicted to City Data !!

I'm a college student and in my english class i was assigned to write an arguementative paper on whether Hampton Roads should combine into one city. I'm kinda stumped . I'm FOR Hampton Roads uniting into one city but I'm not quite sure what some good reasons are, thus I thought it would be a great idea to ask here on the forums.

So what do you think? :

Should Hampton Roads combine into one city? Why or why not? Also, state your reasons!

I'd really appreciate some comments so I can have a direction to go when writing the paper.

Thanks in advance.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-27-2009, 11:34 AM

520 posts, read 1,518,775 times
While it would make the region as a whole stronger, it would eliminate the power that the people controlling each city has. I'm not talking about the political puppets, I'm talking the old money families and wealthy people / businesses. For instance, Norfolk Southern might have Norfolk on their jank, but not the other cities. Meanwhile, Armada Hoffler has VaBeach on their jank, but not the others.

On top of this, the historical names.

Old 04-27-2009, 12:02 PM

5,517 posts, read 9,580,052 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurley89 View Post