U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Hampton Roads area
 [Register]
Hampton Roads area Chesapeake - Hampton - Newport News - Norfolk - Portsmouth - Suffolk - Virginia Beach
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-31-2010, 01:37 PM

26 posts, read 48,055 times

Advertisements

Hello. My family and I currently living in Dayton, OH. We fell in love with Williamsburg, Va when we visited last year. We loved it so much that we want to move there. What is the cost of living like? How's the job market? My husband works as a corrections officer. I am a licensed social worker who'll be graduating with my masters degree next year. We are a family of 5. Our oldest is 14 and our other two are 10 and 7. We want to move there next year after graduation. Any tips, suggestions, regarding housing and jobs? Thanks in advance.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-01-2010, 09:16 AM

1,184 posts, read 3,687,524 times
From City Data stats the Estimated median house or condo value for Dayton OH in 2008: $81,500
Estimated median house or condo value for James City County Va/ Williamsburg in 2008: $353,597

I can give you more timely data but felt this was a good comparison.

Here are a few of the regional jails:

Gloucester County Jail
7502 Justice Drive
Gloucester, VA 23061
804-693-1371
Hampton Correctional Facility
1928 W. Pembroke Avenue
Hampton, VA 23669
757-926-2540
Middle Peninsula Regional Security Center
P.O. Box 403
Saluda, VA 23149
804-758-2338
Newport News City Jail
P.O. Box 57
Newport News, VA 23607
757-926-8759
Newport News City Farm
P.O. Box 2297