U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg area
 [Register]
Harrisburg area Cumberland, Dauphin, and Perry Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-11-2010, 03:46 PM

9 posts, read 18,404 times

Advertisements

I'm a single professional looking for anyone who can chime in on the best areas to live in Harrisburg. Just took a job off exit 72 on 81 and looking for an apartment within 15-20 minutes. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-12-2010, 10:04 PM

1,434 posts, read 3,694,332 times
Oh man, I love these kinds of posts!

What kind of apartment are you looking for? Would you rather have a garden-style complex (pseudo-townhouses) or a high-rise? Would you prefer living in the city, suburbs, or a rural area? What's your budget?

Exit 72 is Paxtang / Mountain Road, if I'm not mistaken. You've really got a choice of decent complexes in Lower Paxton township. Susquehanna Township also has some really unique split-level loft condos (Cherrington and Waverly Woods) that frequently go up for rent.

Being a single professional myself, I love living downtown. I have a top-floor corner apartment in a downtown hirise for $850 / mo, which includes reserved indoor parking and all utilities. I love being able to walk to all the cultural events and festivals, having Riverfront Park a block away, and being able to walk to the train station when I want to get away to NY for the weekend. And being within walking distance of all the downtown nightlife & entertainment doesn't hurt.