U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg area
 [Register]
Harrisburg area Cumberland, Dauphin, and Perry Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-18-2012, 10:06 PM

3 posts, read 11,661 times

Advertisements

Hi

This is my first time posting and reading other threads I see there are some helpful and knowledgeable people out there so I am hoping to get some help from some of you!

My husband has just got a job in the Carlisle, PA area and our family will be moving there mid-October for a year. We have to take a trip to find schools and housing in the next couple of weeks, so I'd like to be prepared before heading out there and need to narrow down some options.

We have a first grader and a 3 (almost 4) year old so first priority is to find great schools for them (public or private - but independent/non-sectarian if private). We would also like to be close (i.e. 5-10 min drive max.) to shopping, restaurants, parks, after school activities like soccer, gymnastics etc. Nowhere too remote - if we could walk that would be preferable. And safe, family friendly neighborhoods would obviously be ideal. We will be renting since we will only be there for a year and have a budget of about $1300-$1500 for a 2 bedroom apartment. My husband would be fine with a drive of approx. 30 mins to work (in Carlisle).

I hope to get some suggestions / advice in repsonse to the following questions, or any general recommendations or information would also be great. Thanks in advance! ......