Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-24-2013, 09:13 PM

6,657 posts, read 7,755,481 times

Advertisements

Aloha,

I am a longtime ago resident of Hawai'i, i have other threads on lost local Hawai'i culture and hanabata times from the 70s-80s on this forum.

Im very much aware that the Hawai'i i remember is almost if not gone. What im curous about is, what unique local current culture places for grinds, entertanment or shopping or beaches can you recommend and enjoy. Does any place give you that old Hawaii feeling or Hanabata times feeling as when you grewup there. Or is everything like everywhere else now(starbucks,jack in the box, pizza hut etc). I know Rainbow Drive in is still there.

I would be greatful to hear what you enjoy and recommend. Please don't sweat it if your not from Oahu post anyway for your area because you never know who you can help. And photos, links are fine too. Mahalo Aloha.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-24-2013, 09:19 PM

12,120 posts, read 17,910,958 times
Yelp is a great place to start.

Old 08-24-2013, 10:29 PM

1,872 posts, read 2,816,051 times
On Oahu one of my favorites is Ono Hawaiian Foods. Mmmmmmmm.... Then after that, since you have already eaten WAY more calories then anyone should in one meal, why stop there, go down the street to Leonard's Bakery and grab a fresh Malasada or two. Not enough? Still feel like going crazy? Then after Leonard's head over to Murakami Stadium, catch a game, down a large beer and a Warrior Dog.