Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-08-2015, 01:58 PM

7 posts, read 13,314 times

Advertisements

I am considering a move to Hawaii, any island really, without a job. I have not had any luck with my applications, however I suspect that is because I do not have an 808 #. I am 30, Male, Singe, and currently employed as a Quality Manager (7 years) for a manufacturing company specializing in Aerospace. My degree is in Technical Writing.

My question is, how is the current job market for this sector and does anyone think that these skills would be useful for getting a job in Hawaii? I am not married to sticking in the Quality field, however I would like gainful employment in a professional environment.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-08-2015, 02:08 PM

12,120 posts, read 17,970,754 times
Based on your limited information, you don't sound like you have any unique skills required in Hawaii. Quality Managers (especially in Aerospace) and Technical Writing are easy to already source locally (lots of military).

Although unemployment is near record low territory - if you have nothing tying you to Hawaii and don't have skills to set you apart from people already here, you'll have a challenge. The 808 phone number has nothing to do it.

Old 01-08-2015, 02:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by whtviper1 View Post