U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-07-2009, 07:25 AM

12 posts, read 40,400 times

Advertisements

I'm a single mom with a little girl who will be eleven in a couple of weeks. I am a teacher with a masters degree (if that helps in determining my salary and being albe to make it) and I understand that the DOE places you and you do not really choose where you end up. However, if I am informed ahead of time with information I can decide whether to accept the position.

We are both sick of snow and want a new start. I have read really negative things about the kids and racism in the schools as well as drugs. I want this to be a good thing for my daughter and not devastating.

I have also read really good things and that it was a good move for their family in Maui. I really do not think we could afford to live in Mauai on a teachers salary.

I have not really heard about Kauai. I thought Kauai was a family island and that's why I was leaning towards it. Am I misinformed?

Could someone please tell me about Kauai. I put on my application preferrence Kauai and was leaning toward Princetown. I've looked at many places that include all utilities and I think on a teachers salary we'll be okay in Kauai. Most places are $1,100 for a 2 bedroom including utilities. By the time I pay my mortgage now and all utilities it is far more than that. I guess they have a lot of solar power and my house was built in 1943. Is this a good place to raise a family? Will she fit in okay in Kauai?

We are both so excited about this opportunity.