U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 04:15 PM

3 posts, read 10,240 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone, I'm a 21 year old student who lives in Phoenix, Arizona, I'm very interested in writing a novel that I want to base on Molokai. So I've gone out and bought up books, went to the library, surfed the web and found ...well not much in terms of information pertaining to the actual island of Molokai. I know enough now about it to be able to write on it, but since I'm sort of trapped into school work and family responsiblities I'm can't just fly over to Hawaii and check it out myself. So I'm looking for any information on some things if anyone is able to help me.

I have heard about the dreaded cane spider and I want to know if the hideous creature would be something you could find in a rural area of Molokai. Among some of the other scary critters I can maybe include.

Does Vog affect Molokai?

I need a good location for the fictional home I'm writing about, I want it close enough to a town but not too close. Anyone have any good suggestions and know the distances?

What kind of wild life and plant life are really common on the island?

Any good spots for surfing? Or any beaches that seem kind of private? What about caves? And are there only a few big waterfalls in Halawa Valley or smaller ones too?

How often are there storms? How serious can the storms get?