U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-09-2011, 12:09 PM

6,191 posts, read 15,864,918 times

Advertisements

People I know who wear them, and what I've read, assure me I will. And granted, it's only been a few hours.

I'm glad I went with cheap frames and plastic lenses for my first pair to save money! It's my first-ever pair of prescription glasses although I've been wearing drug store readers for about seven years. I have to say, when I find the "sweet spot" I can see things better than I've been able to in years. But I can't walk in them because it's too disorienting, and since I sat down at my computer I haven't been able to find the "sweet spot" to see the screen clearly. I'm heeding the optometrist's advice: turn my head instead of my eyes, point my nose at whatever I want to focus on, etc.

I shall persevere, but does anyone simply never get used to these things? How long should I give it before I go back and ask them to change them, if I don't get used to this? Or am I just being a drama queen about it?

Ahhhhhh. I just put my Rite-Aid readers back on. Much better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-09-2011, 12:39 PM

6,696 posts, read 7,088,470 times
How long have you had them? It generally takes an average of one week to become accustomed to them - but, and this is a bit but - you need to wear them all the time to get used to them. If I switch back and forth from my single vision to my progressives, it's quite disorienting (both ways).

Old 08-09-2011, 12:45 PM