U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-15-2011, 09:48 AM

107 posts, read 169,177 times

Advertisements

I'm trying to get some opinions here.

I work in the environmental hazard industry in the area of lead (the metal) and specialize in lead based paint hazards.

Lead Poisoning and EBLLs (elevated blood lead levels) are still the number one environmental problem for children. Just a small amount (about a period (punctuation mark) on this page) can reduce IQ, change personalities, cause behavioral problems ... permanently.

In adults, a very small amount can increase your risk by ...

250% of death from stroke.
89% of death by heart attack
55% of developing cardiovascular
250% of developing a depressive disorder

and more

It is estimated that around 2,000,000 to 2,500,000 children have EBLLs to the point of causing damage.

Yet ... it is hardly ever mentioned. Why (in your opinion)?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-15-2011, 09:16 PM

25,273 posts, read 30,114,286 times
The pediatricians I know are very knowledgeable about the risks of lead exposure and do screen for it. It should be discussed with every parent.

See here:

http://pediatrics.aappublications.or.../1072.full.pdf

CDC - Lead - Home Page

The CDC article estimates about 250,000 US children age 1 to 5 have elevated blood lead levels. That's quite a bit smaller than your figure, but still significant.

So it is a problem that is being addressed.

Adult exposure is primarily workplace associated, as you know.