U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-29-2020, 02:42 PM

2 posts, read 327 times

Advertisements

Hi folks

I am a chemical engineer and biomedical researcher working on a cholesterol-lowering medication in a small academic lab. Development is in very early stages - but we hope it will be a MUCH cheaper alternative to Repatha and Praluent (PCSK9-inhibitors) that will either work as a supplement to or replacement for statins. When I first began this project, I was shocked by the sticker price of many of the new monoclonal antibody options for high cholesterol.

I'd like to get insights from the user end (ie actual patients, not pharma companies or physicians) about experiences treating high cholesterol, particularly with statins and PCSK9 inhibitors but also by other means.

Does anyone have stories to share? Is it difficult to get insurance approval? Did treatment actually work for you? Was it ridiculously expensive? Any adverse effects?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-29-2020, 03:00 PM

24,645 posts, read 29,669,770 times
I take a statin and have done so for many years. No side effects and no copay with my Medicare Part D. Retail for a three month supply of simvastatin is less than $10.

I am female, 71, and have a horrible family history of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease.

My lipid profile is excellent.

Old 01-29-2020, 03:05 PM

4,364 posts, read 8,141,749 times