Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Memorial Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > History
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 03-21-2008, 09:37 PM

229 posts, read 1,180,590 times

Advertisements

Hi,

Can someone please tell me what are the origins of the southern US accent. The more I hear, the more it sounds Irish to a certain extent.

Old 03-22-2008, 11:20 AM

8,862 posts, read 17,487,576 times
I'm no expert but the area was settled by Scots, Irish and English.

Old 03-22-2008, 11:45 AM

2,377 posts, read 5,402,539 times
If you look back to Nov.2007 , you'll find a thread "How'd We Loose Our English Accent?" It is quite interesting and will probably answer your question

Old 03-22-2008, 12:21 PM

It is an interesting thread but lol a lot of FYI to absorb.

A thorough review of the origins of the English language would be in order.

Instead I plan to reread Bill Bryson's --'The Mother Tongue'

Review: The Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson

Old 03-24-2008, 08:08 AM

594 posts, read 1,778,689 times
Default Southern Accent

According to the book, The Story of English, Black English played a large role in the development of what we call the Southern accent. This is a delicate subject among some Southerners, but nevertheless an historical fact. A paragraph from page 215 of The Story of English explains: