Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
2,500,000 members. Thank you!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 09-01-2010, 10:48 AM
bay bay started this thread
 
425 posts, read 2,918,335 times
Reputation: 179

Advertisements

Finally we start our front proch project. It's a small porch just covering the front door area with 3 ft footing. We are not doing any slab platform. The post will sit on the footing and we will do paver on the rest of ground. Now here comes the issue. When contractor dig the hole for footing, he hit some kind of brick on both side around 1.5 ft depth and not able to go further. We call town hall and they said they will have inspector to stop by to take a look if she has time. If we cannot go further down, is there any solution for our footing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-01-2010, 01:00 PM
 
Location: Johns Creek, GA
17,403 posts, read 65,493,385 times
Reputation: 23510
Until you know for sure what you've exposed- there's no tellin'!
But, my guess would be, depending on the age of the home you've uncovered the original footing for the stoop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-01-2010, 01:20 PM
bay bay started this thread
 
425 posts, read 2,918,335 times
Reputation: 179
My house is 50 years old split level and front door is on ground level. There is no stoop when we bought the house. Only a paver path lead to the front door. According to my neighbor whose father did all the gas pipe for the area in the past, he does not recall encounter such issue. Anyway, probably need to wait for inspector to check.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-05-2010, 11:02 AM
bay bay started this thread
 
425 posts, read 2,918,335 times
Reputation: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by K'ledgeBldr View Post
Until you know for sure what you've exposed- there's no tellin'!
But, my guess would be, depending on the age of the home you've uncovered the original footing for the stoop.

I think you are right. I think it's original footing for the stoop, but for somehow, they decide not to do the stoop later on.
When we first informed inspector, they said no matter what, we will need to dig 3' depth. Therefore, we have contractor came back today with power tool to break the bricks. However, we hit the whole cement foundation when reaching 2' depth. My husband will need to call inspector again to confirm if we can stop here. It does not make any sense for us to break through cement and then fill with cement later.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2010, 03:05 PM
 
Location: Alaska
5,356 posts, read 18,478,874 times
Reputation: 4071
I'd guess that you can use the existing foundation as long as it's in good condition and goes down 4'. You'll likely have to prove it goes that deep by digging along side of it to the 4' depth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-08-2010, 01:25 PM
bay bay started this thread
 
425 posts, read 2,918,335 times
Reputation: 179
The inspector stopped by yesterday and say something like we will need to drill a hole and put something on top of the foundation cement before we can fill the hole with concrete. My husband did not quite understand what she wants so we will have contractor to call inspector directly. Any clue?

Last edited by bay; 09-08-2010 at 01:58 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-08-2010, 03:45 PM
 
Location: Alaska
5,356 posts, read 18,478,874 times
Reputation: 4071
Quote:
Originally Posted by bay View Post
The inspector stopped by yesterday and say something like we will need to drill a hole and put something on top of the foundation cement before we can fill the hole with concrete. My husband did not quite understand what she wants so we will have contractor to call inspector directly. Any clue?
Maybe put rebar in the holes to tie the old foundation to the new concrete? The other thing might be a bonding agent.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 AM.

© 2005-2024, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top