U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-31-2007, 04:50 PM
 
115 posts, read 371,807 times
Reputation: 109

Advertisements

Hey folks,

We're finally moved in and glad to be in Raleigh. We had a great storage shed built in the backyard this past weekend, and I'd like to wire it up for electrical. Has anybody done this? I'd like to get an idea of prices, and it seems most electricians charge you just to come out and take a look. Also, any recommendations on electricians to do the job?

Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-31-2007, 04:57 PM
 
1,489 posts, read 5,331,880 times
Reputation: 553
Did you want to add outlets, or just lighting, b/c you could get solar lights
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 05:02 PM
 
115 posts, read 371,807 times
Reputation: 109
I'd like to get outlets. I got a shed big enough for a little shop and will need to plug in tools.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 06:06 PM
 
401 posts, read 1,524,030 times
Reputation: 202
It's very easy to wire yourself. I have wired several in the past(and they didn't burn down :0). Do you have room to add another breaker on your main panel box? If you do, you can put in another breaker, and run your wire(I put all of mine in conduit at least 18" deep) to the shed. At the shed, put in a main shut off switch, and run your wire through the shed. The size of the breaker, the size wire, and the length of the run will dictate how many outlets you can have in the shed. Someone at Lowes or H.D. should be able to help you get all of that figured out.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 07:06 PM
 
56 posts, read 395,868 times
Reputation: 44
I would recommend a 30amp line with a sub-panel minimum out there. Like Cary native said it has to be 18" if you are putting it in conduit, 24" if you are using UF (Underground feeder wire). 30amp wire is #10 so you will need what is called 10/3 (10 is the wire size, and has three conductors, 2 hots and one neutral. It also has a bare ground wire but that isn't included in your wire count) You will need to have a breaker in your house panel and breakers in your sub panel that you are setting in your shed. You are not required to have a main on a sub panel. I would recommend that you run at least two 20amp feeds for your outlets and a 15amp for your lights. You must use a GFI breaker or receptacle on your outlets. You will also need to buy a ground bar for your sub panel as they don't include them anymore. You need to separate your grounds and neutrals in your sub panel. Do not use the green bonding screw that comes with the panel. (This is only for when you are using it as a service panel and your grounds and neutrals can be on the same bar) You also have to drive a 8' ground rod at your shed. It has to be at least 8' in the ground and cannot be sticking above the dirt. You will also need some #4 bare copper and a ground rod clamp. This should cover you. I have tried to list everything I could and what needs to be done per the NEC. Just in-case you are wondering, yes I am an electrician/helper and have been for the past nine years.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 07:53 PM
 
401 posts, read 1,524,030 times
Reputation: 202
Yeah, What he said ^. Don't let it scare you, it's not too hard.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 09:06 PM
 
5,543 posts, read 16,129,919 times
Reputation: 4304
I just bought a house 2 months ago and the original owner went for all the bells and whistles with his "shed". He built a detached 2 car garage with walk-up attic. There is a separate breaker box with at least 3 circuits, one of them being 220. He also has a phone line out there. There are outlets every 8-10 feet around the walls, with a few extra back in one corner where he had a workbench. I believe that the 220 was used to run a compressor, because there are 4 bolts protruding from the floor where the 220 line is.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 09:34 PM
 
Location: Cary, NC
37,118 posts, read 64,491,797 times
Reputation: 37237
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewUser View Post
I just bought a house 2 months ago and the original owner went for all the bells and whistles with his "shed". He built a detached 2 car garage with walk-up attic. There is a separate breaker box with at least 3 circuits, one of them being 220. He also has a phone line out there. There are outlets every 8-10 feet around the walls, with a few extra back in one corner where he had a workbench. I believe that the 220 was used to run a compressor, because there are 4 bolts protruding from the floor where the 220 line is.
I don't care about your house, just want to buy the shed!

Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-31-2007, 09:52 PM
 
56 posts, read 395,868 times
Reputation: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeJaquish View Post
I don't care about your house, just want to buy the shed!


Yeah, that's defiantly a "man's shed" and can be also be used as temporary housing if you and your old lady ever start having problems
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2007, 09:15 PM
 
115 posts, read 371,807 times
Reputation: 109
Thanks for the tips folks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top